Prior General

Prior General

The position of Prior General of the Order of Augustinian Recollects for the six-year term 2022-2028 falls on Miguel Ángel Hernández. It has the responsibility, together with the General Council, to guide and fulfill the goals as proposed by the General Chapter of 2022.

Miguel Ángel Hernández Domínguez was born in Collado Villalba (Madrid, Spain) on January 19, 1965. After completing his novitiate in Los Negrales (Madrid) and Burgos, he made his simple profession on June 24, 1984 and later, in the same place on December 10, 1988, he made his solemn profession of vows as an Augustinian Recollect. He was ordained deacon in 1989 in Madrid, from the hands of the auxiliary bishop of the same diocese, Bishop Luis Gutierrez. Months later, on June 30, 1990, also in Madrid, the Augustinian Recollect Bishop Florentino Zabalza ordained him to the priesthood.

From that moment until 2006, Miguel Ángel Hernández carried out his pastoral work in Brazil, first in Rio de Janeiro, then in Sao Paolo and, later, in Belém do Pará, in this last place as formator. In the period 2000-2006, for two three-year periods, he served as Vicar Provincial. On July 20, 2006, the Provincial Chapter of the Province of St. Thomas of Villanova elected him Prior Provincial, a position he held until 2012.

For six years, Hernandez dedicated himself to the formation of young Augustinian Recollects, first in the novitiate of Monteagudo and then in the theologate, in Granada. In 2018, the religious of the Province of Saint Thomas of Villanova elected him prior provincial again, a task to which he was dedicating himself until March 22, 2022, when he was elected Prior General of the Order of Augustinian Recollects.


Anteriores Priores generales

Enrique Pérez

1912 – 1914

Fidel de Blas

1914 – 1918

Eugenio Sola

1918 – 1920

Gregorio Segura

1920 – 1926

Vicente Soler


Gerardo Larrondo

1927 – 1932

Jesús Fernández

1932 – 1938

Leoncio Reta

1938 – 1944

Feliciano de Ocio

1944 – 1950

Eugenio Ayape

1950 – 1962

Gregorio Armas


Ángel Armarcegui

1962 – 1968

Luis Garayoa

1968 – 1974

James McGuire

1974 – 1980

Javier Ruiz

1980 – 1986

Javier Pipaón

1986 – 1998

Javier Guerra

1998 – 2010

Miguel Miró

2010 – 2022